Faced with an Arizona reckless driving charge?

As many readers of our blog know, the language of the law (often referred to as “legalese”) can sometimes be convoluted and difficult for the layperson to understand. Take for example, Arizona’s reckless driving law, which states that “a person who drives a vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.”

While that circular legal logic might be amusing to students of language and logic, it is no laughing matter to those who have been pulled over and cited for reckless driving.

Reckless driving cases essentially boil down to the interpretations of the law and circumstances by the police officer who stopped the driver and the prosecutor. Elements in these cases can include the following:

  • Typically driving at 25 miles or more above the posted speed limit
  • Speeding in poor road conditions (weather, construction zone, etc.)
  • Speeding with children in the vehicle
  • Weaving in and out of traffic at high speeds

Penalties for an Arizona reckless driving conviction can include:

  • Jail: Up to four months
  • Probation: Up to two years
  • Fines: Up to $750

In more practical terms, a reckless driving ticket adds eight points to your driving record, increases your auto insurance rate, can result in a driver’s license suspension and loss of a driving job (trucker, cabbie, etc.) and commercial driving license (CDL).

For many, the direct and indirect costs of a reckless driving citation are unacceptable. They fight for their freedom, driving privileges and rights with the help of an attorney who knows the law and courts.